Wednesday, May 21, 2008

contest 2.0: please put your pencils down

The contest is over and here are the answers.

Q1) How many laps are run in the Indy 500?
A. 200
The "oval" track at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is 2.5 miles long. In order to drive 500 miles the drivers complete 200 laps.

Q2) Where was this year’s pole sitter born?
A. Scott Dixon, who qualified for this year's Indy 500 with a four lap average speed of 226.366 MPH, was born in Brisbane, Autralia. But was raised in Auckland, New Zealand. He is the first "Kiwi" to win the Pole at Indy.

Q3) Who is the oldest driver to qualify for this year’s Indy 500?
A. Marty Roth, born December 15, 1958, age 49.

Q4) Who is the second youngest driver to qualify for this year's 500?
A. Mario Moraes, born December 20, 1988, age 19.
The youngest driver to qualify this year is Graham Rahal, born January 4, 1989, also age 19.

Q5) Which of the following celebrities is not part owner of an IndyCar team: David Letterman, Harrison Ford, Paul Newman, Patrick Dempsey, or Jason Priestly?
A. Harrison Ford.
While Marco Andretti will be driving an Indiana Jones sponsored/theme car Harrison Ford is not a team owner.
David Letterman = Rahal/Letterman Racing
Paul Newman = Newman/Hass/Lanigan Racing
Patrick Dempsey = Vision Racing
Jason Priestly = Rubicon Race Team (who actually failed to qualify due to mechanical issues)

Q6) Which 2008 Indy 500 qualifier won the 2007 Indy Lites Freedom 100?
A. Alex Lloyd

Q7) Which driver will compete in this weekend's Indy 500 and Indy Lites Firestone Freedom 100?
A. Jeff Simmons

Q8) Who is the tallest of the female drivers qualified for this year’s 500?
A. Milka Duno
For only the second time three female drivers will compete in the Indy 500: Sarah Fisher = 5'3";
Danica Patrick = 5'2"; Milka Duno = 5'4"

Q9) Which driver is the nephew of an Indy 500 winner?
A. John Andretti, nephew of 1969 Indy 500 Champ Mario Andretti, and son of Mario's twin brother, Aldo.

Q10) Who drives the # 10 car? In which position will that driver start? Name one of his/her sponsors.
A. Dan Wheldon, whose primary sponsor is Target, will start in P2.
Q. Which direction are the drivers facing when they cross the start/finish line?
A. South

Q. Which former driver and 2008 Race Day color commentator is an Indy 500 champion?
A. 1998 Indy 500 Champ, Eddie Cheever, Jr.

Q.Which driver is “lovin’ it?”
A. Justin Wilson, whose primary sponsor is McDonald's.
Or as he says in his English accent, "Mac-Don-allds".

1 comment:

Rebecca said...

did i get ANY right? maybe the harrison ford one?